Elected leaders

Diaconate | Session | Nominations


The Diaconate, a group of men and women nominated, elected and appointed by the Redeemer members, exists to contribute to the building of a repentant and rejoicing community through loving, truth-telling relationships where practical, visible needs are being met while hearts are being changed through encounters with Jesus and one another. We express in practical ways Christ’s command to all believers to love our neighbor as ourselves. Learn more about the Diaconate.


The Session at Redeemer consists of the senior pastor, associate pastors and ruling elders. The biblical model of leadership is probably best characterized in the phrase “servant leader.” Just as Christ didn’t come to be served, but to serve (Matthew 20:28), the role of the elders is to be servant leaders as they oversee and shepherd. A ruling elder is a member who has been elected by the other Redeemer members. The qualifications and motivations for the office are described in 1 Peter 5:2-3, 1 Timothy 3:1-7 and Titus 1:6-9.

The role of the Session at Redeemer can be divided into the two primary capacities of oversight and shepherding. Oversight means they have a fiduciary responsibility on behalf of the congregation to ensure accountability of the staff to implement Redeemer’s mission, vision and values, as well as to provide appropriate financial controls and accountability. Shepherding means they minister alongside the Redeemer pastors to provide for the spiritual care and nurture of Redeemer congregants. Some of the particular roles and duties of the Session include serving on various committees, teams and task forces, attending monthly Session meetings, conducting membership interviews, facilitating monthly healing prayer times for congregants, teaching, and providing pastoral care. See our current elders by congregation below.

Downtown elders

  • Bruno Assante
  • David Hawkins
  • Bryce Humphrey
  • Andrew Yong

East Side elders

  • Alexander Chou
  • Arvin Soh
  • Braxton Boren
  • Bruce Terrell
  • Caleb Duncanson
  • Carter Hinckley
  • Dan Bitar
  • Dave Gurak
  • Glen Kleinknecht
  • James Herring
  • John Ellis
  • Kelly Stapleton
  • Sarat Chandarlapaty

West Side/Lincoln Square elders

  • Christian Becker
  • Jon Brayshaw
  • Scott Carpenter
  • Cory Cates
  • Albert Chang
  • Victor Clemente
  • Cregan Cooke
  • David Grant
  • Paul Gross
  • Sung Jin Oh
  • Paul Paik
  • Eric Roachford
  • Barry Russell
  • Jason Stone
  • Bill Taylor
  • Greg Tsai


To nominate someone to be an elder, deacon, or deaconess, see nominations.

Redeemer History | Philosophy of Ministry | Rise Campaign | Annual Report | Redeemer Guide (PDF) | Elected Leaders | 25th Anniversary | Rent W83 Ministry Center | Past Vision Updates